The 7th Annual Legendary Awards honors leaders in their field for 2017

Don’t get it wrong: there is a difference between an icon and a legend. As an icon, one is in the moment of time but as a legend, one transcends time to longevity in history. Arguably the terminology is synonymous, though there is a slight difference in verbiage. It’s the consistent and diverse achievements that usually define the meaning and importance. On Sunday March 19th at Cobb Center in Atlanta, those legends in their field came to be honored at the 7th Annual Legendary Awards.

Usually people do not set out to be legends but are often bestowed with the honor of being legendary by their peers. And often, those who are being honored are often amazed that they have been given these honors that usually come with age, thus the history factor. However, how does any person gauge the tireless efforts, commitment and value that define the character of a legend? Just as it has done in the last 6-years, Atlanta rewards the attributes of those gifted people through recognition and placed historically in a special place.

True, there are those being honored that feel because of age they cannot or don’t qualify as a legend. History has tainted the image but not the deed. The Legendary Awards are the brainchild of visionary Rhonda Wilkins, a 20-year veteran in the Entertainment industry, could easily qualify as a legend herself. Considering that she is also CEO of Atlanta-based event marketing and production boutique, Divas Unlimited, Inc., featured in numerous national media outlets. However, her talent now lies with The Legendary Awards Gala that has grown to include a fashion show, brunch and The Legendary Health Initiative was launched to provide education, prevention, awareness, advocacy and improved access to care to Georgian residents lacking access to quality healthcare, pre-screening diagnosis, and health screenings.

The Legendary Awards, a 501 (c) (3) foundation whose purpose among other things is to  help to raise awareness and funds for research for healthy living and the ceremony reflects those efforts  in various categories that include (but not restricted to) health, service, media, sports, entertainment, humanitarian, history maker and trailblazer, there have been many notables that have received their recognition in the past. They include  Mr. Dominique Wilkins  (Brand Ambassador),  Mayor Kasim Reed, Ms. Daye Bexley, Mrs. Monica Pearson, Mr. Julius “Dr. J” Erving (Highlight Awards), Dr. April L. Speed, Breast Care Surgeon (Health Honoree), The Iconic, Ms. Jayne Kennedy-Overton, (History Maker Award), Dr. Joseph Lowery (Pioneer Award), Mr. Clark Howard, (The Community Award), Mr. Ted Turner (2012 Pioneer Award), NFL Hall of Famer Mr. Lawrence Taylor (Sports Award), A Mr. Carl Anthony Payne, Actor (Trailblazer Award), Mrs. Karyn Greer ​( ​The Media Icon Award), Mrs. Elisabeth Omilami (The Humanitarian Award),  Mr. Larry Blackmon and Cameo (The Legendary Award), Mr. Thomas Dortch (The Spotlight Award),  Mr. Sugar Ray Leonard (The Lifetime Achievement Award ), Ms. Xernona Clayton, (The Pioneer Award ), Mr. Duke Fakir of the “Four Tops”​  (The Legendary Award),  Dr. Kevin B. Lee Senior Pastor of Berean Church, (Humanitarian Award), and Ms. Gwen Torrence, Track and Field Hall of Famer, (Sports Award).

This year’s honorees include Rev. Dr. C.T. Vivian (The Pioneer Award), Mr. Rodney Perry, Comedian (The Highlight Award), Ms. Kristen Connor (The Health Award), Mr. Eric Merriweather (The Humanitarian Award), Mr. Egbert Perry (The Business Icon Award), Ms. Aungelique Proctor (The Media Award), Mr. Mike “The Stinger” Glenn (The Sports Award), Mr. Malcolm Jamal Warner (The Trailblazer Award), Brick (The Entertainment Award) and a special presentation by the Paul Anthony  Foundation. Mr. Paul Anthony is best known as a member of the R&B music group Full Force.

Brand Ambassador’s for this year were Ms. Rhonda Wilkins, Mr. John Wilkins and Mr. Rodney Perry. Rounding out the evening’s festivities were co-hosts Ms. Trina Braxton and Mr. Stevie Baggs. As was last year, this year and for years to come, the Legendary Awards will follow their mantra and purpose which is “Together we make a Difference

To learn more visit or follow on Twitter @LEGENDARYAWARDS

  • Joseph Walker, III
Skip to toolbar